Advisory Board

The leadership of MATS UTC has placed a considerable amount of effort in establishing a diverse advisory panel that will provide guidance for center activities and a conduit for technology transfer. Members represent state and local government, the private sector, and all modes of transportation. Jose Gomez, chair of the panel, brings extensive experience in directing applied research, implementing results, and directly supporting the provision of transportation services.

A key role of the panel will be to guide the competitive, collaborative element of the research program. By identifying needed research topics, and reviewing expert reviews of the proposals, the panel will advise selection of projects that directly meet government and industry needs. Beyond meeting at the annual MATS UTC meeting, center leadership will also hold tri-annual conference calls focused on soliciting input in education programs, technology transfer, and employment opportunities for graduating students.

Jose Gomez, Chair, Virginia Center for Transportation Research and Innovation (VCTIR/Virginia DOT)

Damon Fordham, The Cadmus Group

Susan Handy, University of California, Davis

Jason Wang, Appalachian Regional Commission

Camelia Ravanbakht, Hampton Roads Transportation Planning Organization (HRTPO)

Holly Rybinski, Rybinski Engineering

Dominic Scurti, Maryland Port Administration

Donald Williams, West Virginia DOT

Tim Witten, Blacksburg Transit

Hua Xiang, Maryland State Highway Administration

Tigist Zegeye, Wilmington Area Planning Council (WILMAPCO)